Microsoft Excel Certification: What the Official Exam Pages Say
What Microsoft's own Learn pages say about the Microsoft Excel certification exam: MO-200, MO-210 and MO-211 skills, duration, renewal and what the pages leave out.
If you are weighing up a Microsoft Excel certification exam, the first thing to know is that Microsoft publishes more than one Excel credential, and the exact exam you sit depends on which version of the credential you want. This guide sticks to what Microsoft's own Learn pages say, with the dates shown on those pages. It is useful whether you are an individual deciding if a certificate is worth the effort, or a manager in a Dublin finance team deciding what to ask for. If you are comparing certificates with other professional development, our overview of finance training courses in Dublin puts them in context.
Which Excel credentials does Microsoft list?
The Microsoft Learn pages we opened describe the Microsoft Office Specialist (MOS) programme. Three Excel-related entries are the focus of this guide (the Expert certification page also lists an Office 2019 Excel Expert exam, MO-201, which we did not read in detail):
- Microsoft Office Specialist: Excel Associate (Office 2019), which uses exam MO-200.
- Microsoft Office Specialist: Excel Associate (Microsoft 365 Apps), which uses exam MO-210.
- Microsoft Office Specialist: Excel Expert (Microsoft 365 Apps), which uses exam MO-211.
The MO-200 exam page (last updated 3 August 2026, according to the page metadata) shows a retirement date of "none". The MO-211 page (updated 1 July 2026) also shows no retirement date. The MO-210 page (updated 31 July 2026) does not mention retirement. Microsoft's pages can change, so check the live page before you book anything.
What the MO-200 skills outline covers
The MO-200 page describes the exam as testing the ability to create and edit multi-sheet workbooks and to use charts and other graphic elements to represent data. It lists five skill areas with weightings:
| Skill area | Weighting on the page |
|---|---|
| Manage worksheets and workbooks | 10-15% |
| Manage data cells and ranges | 20-25% |
| Manage tables and table data | 15-20% |
| Perform operations by using formulas and functions | 20-25% |
| Manage charts | 20-25% |
The page links a more detailed skills-measured document. Read that document, not a summary, before you decide how much preparation you need, because it sets out the individual tasks under each heading.
The Microsoft 365 Apps Associate exam
The MO-210 page lists the same five areas of skills as MO-200, but it gives no weightings. It states a duration of 50 minutes, says the exam is proctored and may include interactive components, and gives a renewal frequency of 60 months. It also says a failed attempt can be retried after 24 hours. One practical note from our reading: the page's link to the skills outline pointed to a file whose name appeared to relate to a different certification, so it may be broken. If you cannot open the outline from the page, contact Microsoft's credentials support rather than relying on a third-party summary.
The Expert exam, MO-211
The MO-211 page describes four skill areas, with these weightings: manage workbook options and settings (10-15%), manage and format data (30-35%), create advanced formulas and macros (25-30%), and manage advanced charts and tables (25-30%). It lists English as the language.
The separate Expert certification page (last updated 5 February 2025) is more detailed about how the credential is earned. As we read it, you first earn the Associate (Microsoft 365 Apps) certification, which requires passing three exams from different programmes, and then pass two Expert exams from different programmes. That page does not state a renewal period, an exam length or a retake policy, so do not assume the Associate figures apply to the Expert level.
Practical details the pages do and do not give
- Languages: The MO-200 page lists 17 languages including English; the MO-210 page lists English and 14 other languages.
- Price: The pages say the price depends on the country or region where the exam is proctored, exclude taxes and promotions, and tell you to confirm the price with the exam provider. No amount is shown on the pages we read, so we give none here.
- Preparation: The MO-200 page says no learning paths, modules or current courses are available for that exam, although it links to an exam replay offer and a training and certification guide.
- Account: Microsoft recommends registering with a personal Microsoft account. The pages warn that if you register with a work or school account, your exam records are lost if you leave that organisation and cannot be recovered.
- Renewal: The Associate (Office 2019) certification page gives a renewal frequency of 60 months. The MO-200 exam page itself says nothing about renewal.
The Associate (Office 2019) certification page also gives a candidate profile of about 150 hours of instruction and hands-on experience. Treat that as Microsoft's description of the typical candidate, not a requirement to attend any particular number of hours.
Choosing between the versions
The pages do not say which version an employer should prefer, so this is our suggestion only. Check which Excel version your team actually uses day to day, then match the credential to it. If someone already holds an Office 2019 certificate and wants to go on to the Expert route, the Expert certification page lists which exams count towards the Associate (Microsoft 365 Apps) prerequisite, including Office 2019 exams such as MO-200, and requires at least one Microsoft 365 Apps exam, so read it for the exact combination before you book. Keep the certificate details and the date you passed on file, because the renewal period is measured in months.
Using certification as part of CPD
An Excel credential is a skills credential from a software vendor. It is not a substitute for the CPD requirements set by an accountancy or regulatory body. If you are building a plan, a good starting point is our guide to CPD training for finance professionals in Dublin, then check with your own professional body whether a vendor exam counts towards its hours. Our suggestion: ask the body in writing and keep the reply.
A short checklist before you book
- Open the exam page for the version you plan to sit and note its "last updated" date.
- Download the skills-measured document and compare it with your daily Excel work.
- Confirm the current price and any promotions with the exam provider.
- Register with a personal Microsoft account.
- Record the renewal period shown on the certification page.
Learnsignal's offices are off Baggot Street in Dublin, and we offer in-person training from there. For current details, see our CPD pages.
Frequently asked questions
Is the Microsoft Excel certification exam retired?
On the pages we read, the MO-200 page shows a retirement date of "none" and the MO-211 page shows no retirement date. The MO-210 page does not mention retirement. Pages can change, so check the live page before booking.
How long is the Associate exam?
The MO-210 page and the Associate (Office 2019) certification page both give 50 minutes. The pages say the exam is proctored and may include interactive components.
Does the certificate expire?
The Associate pages give a renewal frequency of 60 months. The Expert certification page we read does not state a renewal period.
How much does the exam cost?
The pages do not show a price. They say it depends on the country or region where the exam is proctored and to confirm it with the exam provider.
Always rely on Microsoft's live pages for the current exam details before you commit time or money.
This page was last updated:
Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team
The Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team creates CPD and compliance training content for nurses, allied health professionals, and care providers, drawing on current regulatory guidance from bodies including NMBI and equivalent professional regulators.
View all posts by Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team


