Parent's Leave and Parent's Benefit in Ireland: An Employer's Guide

How Parent's Leave and Parent's Benefit work in Ireland: nine weeks per parent, notice, postponement, the weekly rate and what employers must do.

Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team
6 min read
Updated

Parent's Leave gives each parent in Ireland a block of leave in the early years of a child's life, and Parent's Benefit is the social welfare payment that can go with it. For employers, the questions are how much leave each parent can take, how much notice is needed, when an employer can postpone it and who pays. This guide is based on two Citizens Information pages: the Parent's Leave page, last edited on 25 February 2026, and the Parent's Benefit page, edited on 7 October 2026. It sits alongside our guide to statutory sick leave in Ireland, which covers a different entitlement.

How much leave each parent gets

Citizens Information says each parent gets 9 weeks of Parent's Leave in the first two years of a child's life, or within two years of placement for adoption. From 1 August 2024 the entitlement rose from 7 to 9 weeks for children born or adopted after that date. Parents of children under 2 on that date, or adopted children placed less than two years before it, can claim the extra 2 weeks, provided they finish the leave by the child's second birthday or within two years of placement. The leave period stays the same for multiple births or adoptions of more than one child. Entitlements cannot be transferred to a partner, although if a parent dies the surviving parent may take the untaken portion.

The page says the leave is available to employees and to self-employed people. It must be taken within 104 weeks of the birth or placement, and the person must be a relevant parent. That includes a parent, a spouse, civil partner or cohabitant of a parent, an adopting parent, and certain other categories the page lists. The page does not state a minimum length of service.

Notice and how the leave is taken

Notice must be in writing, at least 6 weeks before the start date. It must state the start date, how the leave will be taken and how long it will last, with supporting certification such as a birth certificate or certificate of placement. The leave can be taken as one continuous 9-week block or in separate periods of at least one week.

When an employer can postpone

According to Citizens Information, an employer can refuse only if the employee is not entitled to the leave. An employer can postpone the leave once, by up to 12 weeks, for listed reasons such as seasonal workload, no cover, the nature of the duties, the number of other staff on leave, or a substantial adverse effect on the business. The employer must give written notice with reasons at least 4 weeks before the start date, and the new date must be agreed by both sides. Where a business-related postponement pushes the leave beyond the two-year window, the eligibility period can extend by up to 12 weeks, with supporting documents.

The page does not say whether employers may postpone for reasons beyond those listed.

Pay and Parent's Benefit

Employers are not required to pay wages during Parent's Leave, although some top up the benefit under the contract. Citizens Information says Parent's Benefit is paid by the Department of Social Protection at 2026's standard rate of €299 per week, if the parent has enough PRSI contributions. The Parent's Benefit page also says the standard weekly rate will increase by €10 in January 2027 under Budget 2027, and does not give a resulting figure.

On the PRSI conditions, the Parent's Benefit page says an employee generally needs one of three combinations. These are 39 weeks of PRSI paid in the 12 months before the first day of benefit, 39 weeks since starting work plus 39 paid or credited in the relevant tax year or the following year, or 26 weeks in the relevant tax year and 26 in the year before it. A self-employed person needs 52 Class S contributions in the relevant tax year, the year before or the year after. The page gives 2024 as the relevant tax year for 2026 claims.

How the benefit is claimed

The Parent's Benefit page says employees must first get their Parent's Leave approved by their employer, giving at least 6 weeks' notice. Employees then apply for the benefit at least 4 weeks before leave starts, and self-employed people apply 6 weeks before. The application must be made within 6 months of starting leave, and the child's PPS number is needed. Online applications use MyWelfare.ie and require a Public Services Card, a verified MyGovID account and the employer's ERN. Postal applications are also possible. Payment goes to the person's bank or building society account, or to the employer's account if the employer pays in full during the leave.

Other rights during the leave

Citizens Information says Parent's Leave counts as employment, with a right to return to the same job. Annual leave accrues, public holidays are included and PRSI credits apply. There is protection against penalisation and unfair dismissal for claiming the leave. Disputes go to the Workplace Relations Commission within 6 months, which can be extended by up to 6 more months for reasonable cause.

What the pages do not say

The Parent's Leave page does not state the PRSI threshold for the benefit (the benefit page does), does not describe what remedies the WRC can award, and does not give rules for self-employed people beyond general eligibility. The benefit page does not explicitly say who funds the payment beyond the Department processing it. Check the pages for any updates before you rely on the figures.

Our suggestions for HR teams

These are our own practical suggestions, not part of the Citizens Information pages:

  • Diarise the 6-week notice date and the 4-week postponement deadline as soon as a request arrives.
  • Keep a template postponement letter that lists the reason from the permitted list, so a written notice is quick to send.
  • Tell employees early that they must apply for the benefit separately and that you will need to provide your ERN. If you offer a top-up, write down how it interacts with the benefit.
  • Where a parent wants a different working pattern on return, our guide to the right to request remote working explains a separate statutory process.

Frequently asked questions

How many weeks of Parent's Leave does each parent get?

Nine weeks, for children born or adopted after 1 August 2024 and for certain younger children, per Citizens Information.

How much notice is required?

At least 6 weeks' written notice before the start date.

Can an employer postpone the leave?

Once, by up to 12 weeks, for listed reasons, with written notice at least 4 weeks before the start date.

Must the employer pay during the leave?

No. Citizens Information says employers are not required to pay wages, though some top up the benefit.

What is the weekly rate of Parent's Benefit?

€299 for 2026, with a €10 increase planned for January 2027.

Next steps

Check your leave policy against the notice, postponement and pay points above, and confirm who deals with benefit applications on your payroll team. You can also explore our CPD training options as part of planning wider HR learning.

This page was last updated:

Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team

The Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team creates CPD and compliance training content for nurses, allied health professionals, and care providers, drawing on current regulatory guidance from bodies including NMBI and equivalent professional regulators.

View all posts by Learnsignal Healthcare Education Team

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join over 30,000+ Learnsignal students and get regular insights delivered to your inbox.

Ready to Start Your Learning Journey?

Join thousands of successful students who have achieved their qualifications with Learnsignal.

Ready to get started?

Join 100,000+ students across 130 countries. Choose a plan that fits your goals — cancel anytime.

View plans