Canadian CPA CPD Deadlines Run From 31 January to 30 September
The 120-hour figure is the same across Canada; the declaration deadline is not. It runs eight months from British Columbia to Quebec, late fees range from $25 to $175, and the escalation ladders are not variations on one template. In Ontario the deadline is not even in the regulation.
The number everybody quotes for Canadian CPA continuing professional development is 120 hours over three years, and it is right almost everywhere. The number that actually catches people out is the date they have to declare it by, and that runs from 31 January to 30 September depending on which province's roll they are on.
Eight months. On what is nominally the same obligation. And because the headline figure is identical from coast to coast, it lulls people into assuming the administration is too.
The deadlines, as published by each regulator
| Jurisdiction | Declaration deadline | Published late consequence |
|---|---|---|
| British Columbia | 31 January | Late deadline 31 March; then 30 days' notice to suspension; cancellation 90 days after suspension takes effect |
| Alberta | 1 March | $150 penalty; suspension if not resolved within 30 days; cancellation 60 days after suspension |
| New Brunswick | 31 March | Suspension letter 30 days after notice; membership revoked 60 days after the suspension letter |
| Nova Scotia | 31 March | A non-compliance policy exists; we could not read it |
| Manitoba | 1 April | Not published on the pages we could reach |
| Saskatchewan | 15 April | Conditions or restrictions on registration; then restriction or suspension, on which the accounting licence is cancelled |
| Newfoundland and Labrador | 30 April | $100 fee |
| Ontario | 1 June | $25 late fee; suspension for declarations outstanding after 30 June |
| Quebec | 30 September | $175 fee; 30 days; final notice; 15-day grace; then suspension, limitation of practice rights, or striking off the roll |
| Prince Edward Island | Not specified in the regulations | Not specified |
Two cells in that table are deliberately empty rather than filled with a plausible figure. Manitoba's consequences and Nova Scotia's non-compliance policy both sit in documents we could not retrieve, so we are not going to describe them. Prince Edward Island's is different: its regulations genuinely specify no reporting deadline. That is an absence in the instrument, not a gap in our research, and it matters below.
The spread at each end
British Columbia's 31 January comes from Bylaw Regulation 600/5 and is a binding date in the instrument. It falls barely a month after the calendar year it reports on closes, which is the tightest turnaround in the country. British Columbia then builds in a second chance: Bylaw 601 treats a member who misses the deadline as compliant if they file and complete outstanding requirements by the later date, which Regulation 601/1 fixes at 31 March.
Quebec's 30 September follows from article 7 of its regulation, which requires the report within thirty days of the end of each reference year. Because Quebec's reference year ends 31 August rather than 31 December, the deadline lands in autumn. Quebec CPAs are therefore closing their hours at the end of August while every other Canadian CPA is running to 31 December.
That combination is what makes dual registration genuinely awkward. A CPA on the British Columbia and Quebec rolls declares by 31 January and again by 30 September, against two different cycles — one rolling on the calendar year, one fixed from 1 September 2025 to 31 August 2028. The hours have to be mapped to both independently, and the two provinces do not even use the same quality test on them.
Late fees range from $25 to $175
Ontario charges $25 for a declaration submitted after 1 June. Newfoundland and Labrador charges $100 for failing to report, or to submit a plan to remedy a deficiency, by 30 April. Alberta charges $150 for failing to report by 1 March. Quebec charges $175, invoiced in October with the notice of default.
A sevenfold spread for the same act of lateness. It is worth knowing that these amounts frequently do not live in the continuing development instrument at all. Ontario's $25 is not in Regulation 7-2; it is in Regulation 11-1, described there as the amount charged for failure to comply with the obligation under section 9 of Regulation 7-2. Reading only the continuing development regulation would not tell you the fee existed.
Where the deadline itself comes from is not consistent either
This is the part most likely to trip up anyone trying to work from first principles.
In British Columbia the date is in the binding regulation. In Ontario it is not. Section 9 of Regulation 7-2 requires every member to submit an annual compliance declaration "on or before the date prescribed by the Registrar" — the regulation fixes no calendar date at all. The familiar window, in which members log in between 1 April and 1 June, and the 1 June deadline itself, are administrative dates the Registrar prescribes and CPA Ontario publishes on its website. They are real obligations, but they are not regulatory text, and a Registrar can move them without amending a regulation.
Quebec's position is a third variant. The thirty-day reporting period is in the regulation, but the reference period it runs from is not: article 6 delegates to the Order the fixing of the dates on which the reference period begins and ends. So the deadline is a product of a regulatory rule applied to a date the regulator chose.
And Prince Edward Island's binding regulations, made as an Executive Council order, specify no reporting deadline and no record-retention period whatsoever. Section 4(1)(b) requires at least 120 hours "in each three-year period specified by the Board", leaving even the cycle to be determined administratively. Note in particular that PEI publishes a 31 May date on its members page, but that date applies to membership dues and other fees, not to continuing development. It should not be reported as PEI's continuing development deadline.
What happens after you miss it diverges more than the dates do
The escalation ladders are not variations on one template.
Ontario's is unusually mechanical and front-loaded. A member who declares non-compliance must file a plan of action within fourteen days of the declaration under section 10, and failure to do so "will result in an immediate administrative suspension". Section 11 then requires the plan to be completed and attested within 120 days, with the same consequence for failure. The suspension is automatic rather than discretionary, and it attaches to the plan rather than to the hours.
British Columbia's is notice-driven. Bylaw 602 requires at least thirty days' notice before suspension, stating the effective date, the reason and how to apply to the Membership Committee for relief, and cancels membership if requirements are not met within ninety days of the suspension taking effect. The Membership Committee may order that a suspension or cancellation not occur, or be delayed, in special circumstances.
New Brunswick's is the harshest in Atlantic Canada: a notice of non-compliance, a suspension letter if documentation is not provided within thirty days of the notice, and revocation of membership if the member does not comply within sixty days of the suspension letter.
Saskatchewan's first-line consequence is different in kind — conditions or restrictions placed on the member's registration until the deficiency is fulfilled, under its board rules, with the professional accounting licence cancelled if registration is suspended. The member must also undertake learning activities within the calendar year equal to the deficiency, in addition to the minimum requirements.
And Quebec's endpoint is striking off the roll, which is a disciplinary outcome rather than an administrative membership status. For a comparison, a shortfall in the United States produces a different set of consequences again, varying by state board.
The practical upshot
If you hold one registration, find your own regulator's date and ignore every national summary, because the national summaries all quote the hours and almost none quote the deadline. If you hold two, you are not managing one obligation with two filings — you are managing two obligations, with two deadlines, potentially two cycles, two quality tests and two sets of records, and the relief that does exist is uneven — Ontario, Saskatchewan and New Brunswick let a dual registrant declare against their prime province, British Columbia relieves non-residents of duplicate detailed reporting, and Alberta expressly requires a declaration to both.
And if you are in British Columbia, there is one more date: 1.5 anti-money-laundering hours fall due on 31 December 2026, and no other province requires them.
Ontario's dates and fee, as published by the regulator: CPA Ontario on continuing professional development obligations.
This page was last updated:
Learnsignal Education Team
Expert Tutor at Learnsignal
Qualified professional with years of experience helping students advance their professional careers.
View all posts by Learnsignal Education Team