IPA Australia CPD Requirements 2026: 40 Hours a Year from July

From 1 July 2026 the Institute of Public Accountants requires 40 CPD hours per one-year period, 30 verified and 10 unverified, replacing the old three-year, 120-hour rule.

Learnsignal Education Team
17 Oct 2026
5 min read
Updated

The Institute of Public Accountants in Australia has moved from a three-year CPD period to an annual one. Under Pronouncement 7 version 5.0, approved on 17 February 2026, members must complete at least 40 hours of CPD in each one-year period, 30 verified and 10 unverified, starting with the period that runs from 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. Before that, the IPA used a rule of 120 hours over three years. This guide explains how the transition works, who must comply, what carries forward and what we could not confirm about the current two-year transition period. For the wider picture, see our professional body CPD and CPE requirements compared and our comparison of UK and Irish accountancy body CPD.

At a glance

RequirementWhat the rules say
Annual hoursAt least 40 hours per one-year CPD period
SplitAt least 30 verified and at least 10 unverified
First annual period1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027 (called Part-2)
Transition periodPart-1 runs 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026 (two years); its hour total is not stated in version 5.0
Competency areasAt least 7.0 hours in each of three competency areas, 5.0 verified and 2.0 unverified, from Part-2
Carry forwardUp to 20 hours from Part-1 into Part-2 (15 verified, 5 unverified)
RecordsKeep for at least five years after the end of each CPD period
Who must complyAIPA, Graduate Associate, MIPA, FIPA, joint and academic members

What changed

Under earlier versions of Pronouncement 7, version 4.0 effective 1 July 2021 and version 4.1 approved in September 2022, members needed 120 hours over each three-year period, with at least 20 hours in each financial year and at least 90 of the 120 hours verified. Version 5.0, approved by the IPA Board on 17 February 2026, replaces that with annual periods. Clause 1.3 defines Part-1 as 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026 and Part-2 as the first one-year period, 1 July 2026 to 30 June 2027. Later periods are also one financial year each.

The 40-hour rule

From Part-2, clause 5.1 requires at least 40 hours per one-year period, of which at least 30 must be verified and at least 10 unverified. Verified CPD is activity with evidence that the IPA or another party can check, such as a structured course with a certificate. Unverified CPD includes self-directed learning. Because Part-2 began on 1 July 2026, the first annual period is already under way.

Competency areas

From Part-2, members must also complete at least 7.0 hours in each of three competency areas, 5.0 of them verified and 2.0 unverified. The professional and ethical standards area includes APES 110, the Code of Ethics for Professional Accountants, and there is no separate ethics-only minimum beyond that area minimum. Part-1 is excluded from the competency-area test.

Carry forward from the transition

Clause 5.3 is a transitional provision: up to 20 hours can be carried forward from Part-1 into Part-2, capped at 15 verified hours and 5 unverified hours. Between later one-year periods, we understand that up to 10 verified hours may carry, but we only found that in a secondary reading of the policy, so check clause 5.3 yourself.

Who must comply

Pronouncement 7 requires CPD from Associate (AIPA), Graduate Associate, Member (MIPA), Fellow (FIPA), joint and academic members. It does not apply to affiliate, retired, honorary, life and student members, and a separate pronouncement covers members who hold the AAT route. No hour differences by grade are listed.

Records and enforcement

Keep your CPD records for at least five years after the end of each CPD period. The IPA checks compliance through its Quality Review Program and its Professional Standards Declaration. A non-compliant member must become compliant, and failure within the set timeframe may lead to disciplinary action. Written applications for special consideration are possible for serious illness, parental leave, carers leave, career change or extended holiday.

What we could not confirm

Version 5.0 does not state the total hours required for Part-1, the two years from 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026, and we found no intermediate version that does. Do not assume 120 hours or 80 hours for that period; ask the IPA. We also found no declaration deadline in the pronouncement, and no CPD hours specific to holders of the Public Practice Certificate. Regulator CPD, such as requirements of the Tax Practitioners Board, is a separate obligation.

Planning your first annual period

Treat 1 July to 30 June as your CPD year, plan 30 verified hours first, and book a course in each competency area early. Keep a log; our CPE tracking log template works for IPA records as well, and our what boards ask for in a CPE audit guide explains how regulators approach record checks.

Frequently asked questions

How many CPD hours does the IPA require now?

At least 40 hours per one-year period from 1 July 2026, with at least 30 verified and 10 unverified.

Is the three-year, 120-hour rule still in force?

No. It applied under versions 4.0 and 4.1, and version 5.0 moves to annual periods.

What was the Part-1 requirement?

Version 5.0 does not state a total for 1 July 2024 to 30 June 2026. Ask the IPA.

Can I carry hours forward?

Up to 20 hours from Part-1 into Part-2, with 15 verified and 5 unverified.

Which members must complete CPD?

AIPA, Graduate Associate, MIPA, FIPA, joint and academic members.

Finding courses that count

Learnsignal publishes accounting, tax, audit, ethics and finance courses in its CPD and CPE library. Before you pay for any course, check the awarding body's own rules on what it accepts, and keep the certificate and the course details. Confirm the current requirements with the IPA before you plan your year.

Source: Institute of Public Accountants Pronouncement 7 v5.0 (approved 17 February 2026), with earlier versions 4.0 and 4.1 (publicaccountants.org.au), checked October 2026.

This page was last updated:

Learnsignal Education Team

Expert Tutor at Learnsignal

Qualified professional with years of experience helping students advance their professional careers.

View all posts by Learnsignal Education Team

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join over 30,000+ Learnsignal students and get regular insights delivered to your inbox.

Ready to Start Your Learning Journey?

Join thousands of successful students who have achieved their qualifications with Learnsignal.

Ready to get started?

Join 100,000+ students across 130 countries. Choose a plan that fits your goals — cancel anytime.

View plans