From AAT to Chartered: What Each Accountancy Body Says

AAT says its members can gain exemptions from the chartered bodies. Here is what ACCA, CIPFA, ICAS, CIMA and ICAEW actually publish about AAT holders.

Learnsignal Education Team
17 Oct 2026
6 min read
Updated

One of AAT's big selling points is that it can lead on to a chartered accountancy qualification. AAT says you can gain exemptions from all the UK chartered and certified bodies, and it names ACCA, CIMA, CIPFA, ICAEW and ICAS. That sounds simple, but the bodies themselves do not all say the same thing. This guide sets out what AAT claims, what each body publishes about AAT holders, and where the evidence runs out, so you can plan your next step without relying on a headline.

The information comes from AAT's pages and from each body's own website, checked on 17 October 2026. Exemption rules change, so treat this as a map of what is published, not a promise of what you will receive. Always confirm your own exemptions with the body you want to join. For a deeper look at the ACCA route, see our guides to AAT exemptions for ACCA and AAT versus ACCA.

What AAT says

AAT's chartered progression page lists ACCA, CIMA, CIPFA, ICAEW and ICAS as bodies where AAT members can gain exemptions. It does not give exemption counts or timelines, and it describes the route as faster and with less debt than university without giving figures. Some other AAT pages list only four bodies and leave out ICAS, so AAT's own pages are not perfectly consistent. That is a good reason to go to the source for each body.

One more point about AAT's wording. The progression claims refer to AAT qualifications and membership in general. The bodies, as you will see, are more specific, and they often refer to the Level 4 Diploma rather than to AAT membership. Completing Level 4 does not automatically make you a full AAT member (MAAT), so keep the two apart when you read the rules. Our guide to AAT membership explains how the grades work, and the AAT levels guide covers the qualifications.

What each body publishes

BodyWhat it says about AAT holdersWhat is not stated
ACCAPeople who have completed AAT Level 4 are eligible for exemptions from the three Applied Knowledge examsThe page does not mention MAAT or name the papers
CIPFAFree exemptions from Financial Accounting, Management Accounting and Company Financial ReportingA fourth exemption, Audit and Assurance, needs the External Auditing optional module
ICASThe Level 4 Diploma in Professional Accounting is on its list of eligible qualificationsIt says you may qualify, not that you will, and the qualification must have been completed within the last three years
CIMAIts exemptions policy does not mention AATWhether CIMA grants any exemption for AAT is not stated there
ICAEWIts page says an AAT qualification can be a stepping stone to the ACAWe could not read exemption details, so none are claimed here

ACCA

ACCA's own wording is that people who have completed AAT Level 4 are eligible for exemptions from the three Applied Knowledge exams. ACCA's AAT pages say AAT holders pay no exemption fees, but its fees pages list a fee for each Applied Knowledge exemption (£98 on the UK page, £86 on the general page) without mentioning AAT, so confirm the fee when ACCA assesses your application. Other ACCA charges are in our guide to ACCA subscription and membership fees. Note that ACCA's page refers to Level 4, so we do not claim a separate benefit for MAAT status.

CIPFA

CIPFA's entry-route page for AAT holders lists free exemptions from Financial Accounting, Management Accounting and Company Financial Reporting. A fourth exemption, Audit and Assurance, depends on completing the External Auditing optional module. The same page says students then sit nine papers, and that MAAT holders need 200 of the 400 professional experience days while AAT-qualified non-members need all 400. This comes from one CIPFA page, and CIPFA's other exemption pages could not be read, so check the current position with CIPFA.

ICAS

ICAS lists the Level 4 Diploma in Professional Accounting among its eligible qualifications. It uses cautious wording, saying you may qualify, and it requires the qualification to have been completed within the last three years. ICAS's help pages also tie the rule to the Level 4 Diploma sat under the September 2022 syllabus. If you finished an older version of the qualification, ask ICAS before you plan around exemptions.

CIMA

This is the one that surprises people. AAT names CIMA among the bodies that offer exemptions, but CIMA's exemptions policy never mentions AAT. It says exemptions are based on qualifications comparable to at least a UK level 4 standard. We have not been able to confirm which CIMA exemptions, if any, apply to AAT holders. Use CIMA's own exemption search before you assume anything, and read our CIMA qualification guide for how the route works.

ICAEW

ICAEW has a page for AAT holders moving towards the ACA, and its summary describes AAT as a stepping stone. The detail on exemptions was not readable when we checked, so we are not quoting a number of papers or a timescale. Our guide to ACCA versus ACA compares the two qualifications more broadly.

How to use this

Pick the body you want first, then check its current exemption rules for your exact AAT qualification and the year you finished it. Ask about fees, time limits and experience requirements as well, as they vary. Keep your AAT certificates and transcripts, since you will be asked for proof. And treat any headline that promises a precise number of exemptions or a fixed time to qualify with caution, because none of the bodies we checked states a single timescale for AAT holders.

Frequently asked questions

Does AAT give exemptions from every chartered body?

AAT says so in general terms, but each body sets its own rules, and CIMA's published policy does not mention AAT.

Do I need to be MAAT for ACCA exemptions?

ACCA's page refers to completing AAT Level 4 and does not mention MAAT.

Which exemptions does CIPFA give?

Financial Accounting, Management Accounting and Company Financial Reporting, according to CIPFA's entry-route page.

Is there a time limit for ICAS?

ICAS says the qualification must have been completed within the last three years.

Planning your next move? Take a look at Learnsignal's AAT courses or the ACCA courses to see where each route can take you.

This page was last updated:

Learnsignal Education Team

Expert Tutor at Learnsignal

Qualified professional with years of experience helping students advance their professional careers.

View all posts by Learnsignal Education Team

Subscribe to Our Newsletter

Join over 30,000+ Learnsignal students and get regular insights delivered to your inbox.

Ready to Start Your Learning Journey?

Join thousands of successful students who have achieved their qualifications with Learnsignal.

Ready to get started?

Join 100,000+ students across 130 countries. Choose a plan that fits your goals — cancel anytime.

View plans